Uniformat D5010
Transformer, pad-mounted liquid-filled
Also called pad mount transformer
This is version 0.3.0. The latest is 0.4.0.
Service life
Years in service. The band runs from the shortest to the longest life the sources state, so it shows how much they disagree, not how long 80% of units last. The line is the median of the stated lives.
Basis
- 30 years · CNA e-Tool Estimated Useful Life Table, p3 · HUD CNA 3.2.8.2.3 “Transformer” — U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (planning life)Same life for family and elderly properties. US multifamily housing. HUD's row is a site electric utility transformer.
- 45 years · Handbook for Optimised Deprival Valuation of System Fixed Assets of Electricity Lines Businesses, 30 August 2004, p37 · Table A.1 “DISTRIBUTION TRANSFORMERS – Ground Mounted, Single/Two Phase, 22/0.4 and 11/0.4 kV, Cable Entry – 22/0.4 kV, 100 kVA to 1,500 kVA” — Commerce Commission (New Zealand) (accounting life)Printed page 35. Ground-mounted (pad-type) distribution transformers of an electricity network, oil-filled in NZ practice; all eight sizes 100-1,500 kVA have Standard Life 45 years. Heading printed as 'Single/Two Phase'. Utility network assets (2004). Regulatory valuation for electricity lines businesses, superseded as a valuation method by the Commerce Commission's Input Methodologies (from 2010). Only the ground-mounted distribution transformer rows map to a library component.
- 45 years · Handbook for Optimised Deprival Valuation of System Fixed Assets of Electricity Lines Businesses, 30 August 2004, p37 · Table A.1 “DISTRIBUTION TRANSFORMERS – Ground Mounted, Single/Two Phase, 22/0.4 and 11/0.4 kV, Cable Entry – 11/0.4 kV, 100 kVA to 1,500 kVA” — Commerce Commission (New Zealand) (accounting life)Printed page 35. As the 22/0.4 kV row; all eight sizes 100-1,500 kVA have Standard Life 45 years. Utility network assets (2004). Regulatory valuation for electricity lines businesses, superseded as a valuation method by the Commerce Commission's Input Methodologies (from 2010). Only the ground-mounted distribution transformer rows map to a library component.
- 35 years · Design standards: employer's requirements – Technical Manual (ER-DFE-XX-XX-T-X-0201, revision A-C01), p275 · 5.7.4 “High voltage (HV) switchgear, transformers and packaged substations: 35 years” — Department for Education (England) (design life)Printed page 275. HV transformers on a school site (packaged substations); type not stated. Minimum life expectancy (design requirement) for DfE-funded school buildings. Minimum design requirements placed on contractors for school buildings, not observed replacement ages. Section 5.1.4 (sanitaryware) refers to CIBSE Guide M Appendix 12.A1 'in general'.
- 32 years · Energy Conservation Program: Energy Conservation Standards for Distribution Transformers (final rule), 89 FR 29834, April 22, 2024, p113 · IV.F.8 “Transformer Service Lifetime: "a distribution of lifetimes, with an estimated average of 32 years and a maximum of 60 years"” — U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (planning life)Printed page 29946. Covers all distribution transformers, including low-voltage dry-type (building dry-type) and medium-voltage liquid-immersed (pad-mounted). Mean of a distribution; the maximum is 60 years. Same value also stated on p.5 (printed 29838) and in Table IV summary on p.101 (printed 29934).
- 25 years · General depreciation rates (IR265), July 2021, p34 · POWR “Transformers” — Inland Revenue (Te Tari Taake), New Zealand (accounting life)Printed page 34. Power generation and electrical reticulation category; type not stated. Also 'Transformers 25' under ELEC p.15. Printed DV 8%, SL 6%. Tax depreciation lives set by the Commissioner of Inland Revenue for New Zealand income tax, not engineering or asset-management lives; they are banded and often short (e.g. reticulation piping 25 years). The July 2021 edition was the newest PDF reachable; the online Depreciation Rate Finder may hold later determinations.
How sources are chosen and recorded: sourcing policy.
Municipal lives for electrical (D50)
39 municipalities in Ontario, British Columbia and Alberta state a life for electrical as a whole, in 30 distinct tables: 10–50 years, median 20. 47 rows come from capital asset policies (accounting lives, used for amortization) and 7 from asset management plans (planning lives, used to forecast replacement). They describe the system rather than this component, and none is a measured life.
Years. Each dot is one stated life and each bar a stated range; equal values stack. Hollow marks are planning lives from asset management plans; filled marks are accounting lives from policies. The dashed line is the median. Policies that copy the same table count once.
All 45 stated lives
| Municipality | As written | Years | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kingston | Electrical Equipment | 10 | accounting | p15 · 2016 |
| Grey Highlands | Exterior Lighting | 15 | accounting | p11 · 2026 |
| Meaford | Electrical - Exterior Lighting | 15 | accounting | p17 · 2020 |
| The Blue Mountains | Exterior Lighting | 15 | accounting | p11 · 2019 |
| Fort St. James, Revelstoke, Rossland, Sicamous, Tumbler Ridge · same table | Electrical/Plumbing/Fire | 15–20 | accounting | p5, p9, p7, p9, p5 · 2010 |
| Okanagan-Similkameen | Electrical/Plumbing/Fire | 15–20 | accounting | p11 · 2023 |
| Salmo | Electrical/Plumbing/Fire | 15–20 | accounting | p6 · 2016 |
| Lloydminster | Permanent Structures - Electrical | 20 | accounting | p11 · 2023 |
| Lloydminster | Portable Structures - Electrical | 20 | accounting | p11 · 2023 |
| Comox Valley | HVAC systems, mechanical, plumbing, wiring, etc. | 20 | accounting | p6 · 2010 |
| Cranbrook | HVAC, plumbing, lighting, etc | 20 | accounting | p9 · 2010 |
| Parksville | Electrical Infrastructure | 20 | accounting | p9 · 2023 |
| Telkwa | Electrical/Plumbing/Fire | 20 | accounting | p8 |
| Amherstburg | Mechanical/Electrical - HVA, Lighting, Security systems, Electrical Panel | 20 | accounting | p8 · 2026 |
| Grey Highlands | Interior Lighting | 20 | accounting | p11 · 2026 |
| Grey Highlands | Ice Surface Lighting | 20 | accounting | p11 · 2026 |
| Huron | Patrol Yards - Building Electrical | 20 | planning | p42 · 2025 |
| Huron | Property Services - Building Electrical | 20 | planning | p57 · 2025 |
| Huron | Housing - Building Electrical | 20 | planning | p68 · 2025 |
| Huron | Homes for the Aged - Electrical | 20 | planning | p77 · 2025 |
| Kenora | Buildings - Electrical System | 20 | accounting | p15 · 2026 |
| London | Building Components - Services (HVAC, lighting, communication, plumbing etc.) | 20 | accounting | p2 · 2023 |
| Meaford | Electrical - Interior Lighting - Standard | 20 | accounting | p17 · 2020 |
| Meaford | Electrical - Interior Lighting - High Wattage | 20 | accounting | p17 · 2020 |
| Meaford | Electrical - Emergency Lighting | 20 | accounting | p17 · 2020 |
| The Blue Mountains | Interior Lighting | 20 | accounting | p11 · 2019 |
| The Blue Mountains | Ice Surface Lighting | 20 | accounting | p11 · 2019 |
| Welland | HVAC/Electrical/Mechanical | 20 | accounting | p8 · 2021 |
| Vulcan County | HVAC (electrical, mechanical) | 20–30 | accounting | p5 · 2024 |
| Duncan, North Cowichan · same table | Building Other (Electrical, Mechanical, etc.) | 25 | accounting | p17, p9 · 2011 |
| Lantzville | Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing | 25 | accounting | p11 · 2019 |
| Tofino | Systems - mechanical, electrical, HVAC | 25 | accounting | p12 · 2009 |
| Brantford | Buildings - Electrical | 25 | planning | p10 · 2025 |
| Brantford | Site Works - Lighting | 25 | planning | p10 · 2025 |
| Greater Napanee | E25 Plant Mechanical & Electrical | 25 | accounting | p16 · 2012 |
| Kirkland Lake | Buildings and Improvements - Mechanical/Electrical | 25 | accounting | p10 · 2020 |
| Rainy River | Building Improvements - Electrical/Plumbing | 25 | accounting | p11 · 2010 |
| Rainy River | Building Improvements - Electrical/Plumbing | 25 | planning | p17 · 2026 |
| The Blue Mountains | Electrical System | 25 | accounting | p11 · 2019 |
| Bancroft, Centre Hastings, Hastings Highlands, Wollaston · same table | Electrical/Plumbing | 25–30 | accounting | p5, p4, p6, p5 |
| Brockton | Mechanical/Electrical (Heating/Cooling System, Refridgerating System) | 40 | accounting | p2 · 2009 |
| Greater Madawaska, Quinte West · same table | Electrical | 40 | accounting | p17, p38 · 2025 |
| Simcoe | Electrical | 40 | accounting | p19 · 2025 |
| Trent Lakes | Electrical | 40 | accounting | p10 · 2009 |
| Meaford | Electrical - System | 50 | accounting | p17 · 2020 |
Of 54 rows, 2 were compared with an image of their page; 52 were matched to their page automatically (the label and number appear in the page text). Follow the page link before relying on an automatically matched row. About the policies · All approved rows as JSON
Preventive maintenance
9 tasks in 2 work orders. Intervals that fall due together are one visit: the every 2 years visit also covers the annual tasks.
- 1
- 2
- 3
- 4
- 5
- 6
- 7
- 8
- 9
- 10
- 11
- 12Annual
Months from the schedule start. Download the tasks as CSV for a CMMS, or ask the MCP tool get_pm_schedule for dated visits.
Annual · 5 tasks
Source: TM 5-692-1 Maintenance of Mechanical and Electrical Equipment at Command, Control, Communications, Computer, Intelligence, Surveillance, and Reconnaissance (C4ISR) Facilities: Recommended Maintenance Practices, Table 20-5 Transformers (primary distribution)
Every 2 years · 4 tasks
Source: UFM 3-550-07 Operation and Maintenance (O&M): Exterior Power Distribution Systems, 5-2.2.4.1 Time-Base Preventative Maintenance (transformers)
Frequencies are ISO 8601 durations in the data (P3M = every 3 months).
Open questions
- Every source here is a published planning, design or accounting life. None is observed replacement data.
- Some maintenance intervals come from TM 5-692-1, an Army manual for mission-critical (C4ISR) facilities; they may be tighter than typical commercial practice.
Know the answer? Send it with a source to [email protected].
Cite this
Citation
unfinished.one (2026). Transformer, pad-mounted liquid-filled, v0.3.0. https://unfinished.one/c/transformer-pad-mounted/v/0.3.0BibTeX
@misc{unfinished_transformer_pad_mounted_0_3_0,
title = {Transformer, pad-mounted liquid-filled},
author = {{unfinished.one}},
year = {2026},
version = {0.3.0},
url = {https://unfinished.one/c/transformer-pad-mounted/v/0.3.0},
note = {CC BY 4.0}
}Licence CC BY 4.0 · How to cite · JSON · Versions: 0.4.0, 0.3.0, 0.2.0, 0.1.0